Indigenous Peoples in BC | Cranbrook Public Library

BC Resources

BC Association of Aboriginal Friendship Centres - to promote, develop and deliver accessible programs and services that support Indigenous peoples living in urban areas and away from home to achieve their vision of health, wellness and prosperity.
B.C. Ministry of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation - Provincial treaty negotiations, interim agreements, the B.C. Treaty Commission, publications.
B.C. Treaty Commission - Treaties establish reconciliation, resolve the land question, and create prosperity for all of British Columbia.
First Nations Health Authority - working to transform and reform the way health care is delivered to BC First Nations
First Nations in BC: Interactive Map - from the British Columbia Assembly of First Nations.
Indigenous Tourism BC - Travel ideas, things to do, places to go, where to stay, plan your trip.

Languages & Guides

First Voices — a collaborative platform where Indigenous communities manage, curate and share their languages
First People's Map of BC - British Columbia is home to 204 First Nations communities and an amazing diversity of Indigenous languages; approximately 50% of the First Peoples’ languages of Canada are spoken in B.C.
Guide to Pronunciation of BC First Nations - September 2018 Guide to Aboriginal Organizations and Services in British Columbia.
Indigenous Peoples: Language Guidelines (University of British Columbia) - Describes terminology to be used for respect and accuracy, and provides guidance on Acknowledgments in both oral and written communications.

Issues in Canada: Indian Act, TRC, MMIWG, UNDRIP

21 Things You May Not Have Known About The Indian Act - Many laws affecting Indigenous Peoples were combined in 1876 to become the Indian Act.
The National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation - Permanent home for all statements, documents, and other materials gathered by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada.
National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls
United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples - Link to United Nations publication March 2008. Note that on 3 December 2020, Canada introduced Bill C-15 to implement the Declaration. Backgrounder.

History & Learning

Online Courses (MOOC - Massive Open Online Courses offered free)
- Indigenous Canada (University of Alberta through Coursera open learning). Can register anytime. Course Description: From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions.
- Reconciliation through Indigenous Education (University of British Columbia) Will help you envision how Indigenous histories, perspectives, worldviews, and approaches to learning can be made part of the work we do in classrooms, organizations, communities, and our everyday experiences in ways that are thoughtful and respectful. Reconciliation emphasizes changing institutional structures, practices, and policies, as well as personal and professional ideologies to create environments that are committed to strengthening our relationships with Indigenous peoples.
Indigenous (CBC Kids) - Facts, history, games and more.
Indigenous history (Library and Archives Canada) - Library and Archives Canada (LAC) acquires, preserves, and provides access to published and archival heritage material that represents First Nations, Inuit and Métis Nation experiences and contributions to Canada. This includes text, photographs, maps, and audio-visual material. Explore the collection through our online databases, digitized documents and thematic guides.
Indigenous History (Government of Canada) - virtual exhibitions, timelines and Canadian history.
Indigenous Knowledge & Wisdom Centre (IKWC) - embodies the credible & authentic voice and inherent knowledge of its people while respecting the diverse cultures of First Nations in Alberta.
Indigenous Collections & Repatriation Department (BC Archives & Royal British Columbia Museum) - Research guide to these collections and current projects highlighting Indigenous voices.
Indigenous Peoples in Canada (Canadian Encyclopedia) - provides background, includes an education guide, podcast information and links to further reading.
Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada (Canadian Geographic) - provides images and article excerpts of the hardcover publications.
Inuit - history, traditional values and regional descriptions.
Inuit Cultural Online Resource - History and traditional life and culture of the Inuit.
Metis History and Culture - publications, exhibits and links.
Museum of Anthropology: University of British Columbia - Online exhibitions include: Squamish and Haida people, weavers in the First Nations community of Musqueam and the making of a Chilkat robe.
Walking Together: First Nations, Métis and Inuit Perspectives in Curriculum (Learn Alberta) - Teacher resource includes links to worldviews, oral traditions, Elders, culture and language, kinship, etc.

Mapping and Traditional Territory Land

Native Land - research on whose traditional territory your home or work is located.
Whose Land? - Uses GIS technology to assist users in identifying Indigenous Nations, territories, and Indigenous communities across Canada. Learn about the territory your home or business is situated on, find information for a land acknowledgement, and learn about the treaties and agreements signed across Canada. Includes educational videos.

Media

Indigenous Cinema (NFB) - Since 1968, the NFB has produced close to 300 films by First Nation, Inuit and Métis directors from across Canada. These have offered original and timely perspectives on our country, our history and possible futures from a range of Indigenous perspectives. The NFB has made many of these films freely available online. Also included are biographies of each director and the ability to search for work by nation/people of the director or those depicted in the film.
Index of Indigenous Podcasts to get started.

National Ribbon Skirt Day

Support & Help

KUU-US Crisis Line Society in BC provides a First Nations and Indigenous-specific crisis line available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Toll-free at 1-800-588-8717.
Indian Residential School Crisis Line -a national support line for anyone affected by their experience at residential schools, and those who are triggered by the latest reports. 24-hour national crisis line: 1-866-925-4419.
Indian Residential School Survivor Society – The IRSSS has a wealth of experience delivering wellness and healing services to Indian Residential School Survivors and intergenerational Survivors throughout BC.
Survivor Access – The National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation (NCTR) was created to preserve the memory and legacy of Canada’s Residential School system. The NCTR will ensure that Survivors and their families have access to their own history. Access your residential school records, or request a copy of your statement given to the TRC here.

Truth and Reconciliation Day

Orange Shirt Society - a non-profit organization with its home in Williams Lake, BC where Orange Shirt Day began in 2013. One of its purposes is to create awareness of the individual, family and community inter-generational impacts of Indian Residential Schools through Orange Shirt Society activities.
The Survivors’ Flag – The Survivors’ Flag is an expression of remembrance, meant to honour residential school Survivors and all the lives and communities impacted by the residential school system in Canada. Each element depicted on the flag was carefully selected by Survivors from across Canada, who were consulted in the flag’s creation.
Talking to Kids about Residential Schools (video) – Monique Gray Smith discusses how to talk to kids about Residential Schools, but also how to prepare yourself as the adult to have these conversations. The video is for parents, grandparents, educators…anyone really with children in their lives. Also included are a number of author tips of books to read, podcasts, etc. to deepen and continue your learning.
Week of Truth and Reconciliation 27 Sep – 1 Oct - National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation.

Understanding and Becoming an Ally

Indigenous Ally Toolkit - created by NETWORK Montreal Indigenous Community
Indigenous Information Literacy: Video playlist & Pressbook - Discusses respectful approaches to research and context, finding sources and how to cite these sources correctly.